Bible Study Review: The Battle Plan for Prayer Week One

Battle Plan for Prayer

Last week I started a mini Bible Study group in my hometown. My church is a small one and hasn’t yet composed a youth group; so for this study I gathered some of my local friends, and we have started studying together. Our first choice for this months Bible study is The Battle Plan for Prayer inspired by the Christian movie War Room. I would like to share with you what we have been learning, and I hope and pray that you can use what we have learned to benefit your personal prayer life.

So we started off this first week with a group discussion introducing ourselves to the meaning of prayer, and introducing ourselves to the study. Of course we all know that praying is the way we have communication with God, but what would happen if people became more passionate prayer warriors; what in your life would change? This question got us thinking and we concluded that if we prayed more, our relationship with God would grow stronger, and we would be able to hear His voice more clearly. We closed our group discussion in prayer, and we became both excited and ready to embark on our new journey through the Battle Plan for Prayer!

My group has now finished the daily work for week one as well as our second group discussion. The main thing that we learned was to be consistent with prayer. It is one thing to pray whenever a crisis or trial happens, but to pray every day consistently is truly an challenge. 1 Thessalonians 5:17 commands us to pray continually. We studied Jesus’ example of how he prayed and discovered that He prayed continually while He lived on earth. He found a quiet place away from his disciples and took some time to talk to his heavenly Father daily. We also studied many verses that command us to be devoted, consistent, and persistent with prayer (Ephesians 6:18-19, Matthew 6:11, James 1:5-8, 1 John 1:9, 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18, 1 Peter 5:6-7). To close our group discussion, we prayed and asked God to help us on this journey and to remind us to be consistent with talking to Him on a daily basis. As a group we decided that to keep each other accountable to God through prayer, we would text or call one another at a set time each day. Lastly, we made a list of our goals. Here are the goals that my friends and I made:

“I want to be a consistent and humble prayer warrior, never being too proud to ask God’s help and trying to always (or as much as possible) be there for God like He is for me-and faithful” – Mandolin

“I want to pray so much that I grow deeper in love, wisdom, and power in God. I want my relationship to be so strong with God that I won’t be able to doubt anything and so that others will see that “flame” inside of me and through me others will also be led to become devoted to God.”  – Alexandria

“I want to be able to hear God speak to me” – Samantha

By making these goals we know that God will hear these prayers and help us through our journey of prayer. My friends and I are excited to embark on this second week and are hoping that we learn just as much or even more than we have learned this week. I hope that you have enjoyed this post and will be encouraged in prayer or to even start this study for yourself. What goals would you like to make for your prayer life? Feel free to share your thoughts and feelings in the comments below. I would love to read any ideas and opinions you may have on this subject.  Thanks for reading! 🙂

Coming Soon: Bible Study Review: Week two.

– Alexandria

 

 

 

One thought on “Bible Study Review: The Battle Plan for Prayer Week One

Leave a Reply

